Happy Hoppers Rabbit Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Spaying/Neutering?

3 posters

Go down

Spaying/Neutering? Empty Spaying/Neutering?

Post by Funkylady Mon May 10, 2010 10:50 am

So I am looking to rehome one or two bunnies in the near future.

as a total newbie to the rabbit world I am wondering if you can advise me as to the costs of spaying/neutering bunnies and at what age it is normally done?

My local SSPCA have six bunnies looking for a home so we are going to visit this weekend.

Any more information is greatly appreciated! Smile

xx

Funkylady
New Hopper
New Hopper

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2010-05-10

Back to top Go down

Spaying/Neutering? Empty Re: Spaying/Neutering?

Post by Magoo Mon May 10, 2010 11:21 am

Hi Smile The cost of getting a bunny neautered varies between vets. For example I tried 2 vets for prices and one was £55 and the other was £85. These are quotes for male bunnies though. I think female bunnies would be more expensiv as it's a more complicated operation. Also be aware that not all vets will include the price of aftercare (pain relief, gut stimulant etc) so when enquiring about the price, ask what the overal price will include exactly.

It is usually done at 4/5 months although some vets may prefer to wait until 6 or 7 months.

Also, when resucing a bunny, he or she may already be neautered.

I hope this helps.
Magoo
Magoo
Established Hopper
Established Hopper

Number of posts : 1193
Registration date : 2009-03-25

http://bellasbunnies.blogspot.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Post by Funkylady Mon May 10, 2010 11:30 am

Thank you. My local SSPCA have 6 rabbits and the man said that none of them are spayed/neutered.

I will phone my two local vets to ask about the price.

Thank you for your help Smile

p.s. out of interest, can you house two male bunnies together? If I was rescuing them from the SSPCA how would I go about bonding them?