Happy Hoppers Rabbit Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New bunny - behaviour

3 posters

Go down

New bunny - behaviour Empty New bunny - behaviour

Post by Vince the bunny Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:55 pm

Hi

I am new to bunny keeping and have a few questions that I'm sure you more experienced owners will be able to help me with Very Happy

Firstly he seems a little nervous when I handle him, yesterday when stroking him he was crouched to the sofa and his ears were flat against his body (he didn't look angry, just frightened as he was shaking a bit and panting I think???) Today he shaking less, not panting and his ears were up and facing forward, so I take this to be an improvement?
He is ok with me picking him up but how do I pick him up correctly? I scoop him up under his tummy and then swiftly put my other hand under his back legs which he is fine about but when I turn him around to put him on my chest he paniks a little. I keep one hand under his bum and the other accross his back. It seems to be the turning that causes him bother but I find it difficult to pick him up if he is facing me.
He also keeps nibbling the sofa and trying to dig on it? Why?????
I have discovered he prefers to use one corner of his hutch as the toilet but when I put a littler tray in it he just sat in it and got himeself comfy and then did his toileting in a different corner! He is on newspaper and wood shavings and has hay on newspaper in his bed. He hasn't toileted in his bed.
I think that is all at the mo! I shut him in his hutch at night as we have a lot of foxes about (he has a solid wire hutch and run, not mesh because of this and it is all set up on the patio and is joined together) Is it best to shut him in? I open the whole hutch around 7am and close it around 8.30 pm after he has had some cuddles on the sofa.
I look forward to receiving some helpful advice! Thanks for reading, Elaine
Vince the bunny